Feeds:
Posts
Comments

Archive for December, 2020

Death’s Detective

 

Death’s Detective by Charlotte E English.

 

Publisher : Frouse Books (August 27, 2018)
Language: : English
Paperback : 326 pages
ISBN-10 : 9492824043

 

 

Amazon Review:

 

To catch a villain, send a monster.
There’s a realm. Wreathed in ice and snow, drowning in the dark, Assevan needs a different kind of hero.
There’s a god. Merciless and cold, and quick to anger, the Lord of the Dead insists upon one thing only: vengeance for a murdered soul.
And there’s a man. A ruthless killer, Konrad is detective, judge and executioner in one. Dauntless, relentless, monstrous, he stands alone against the dark.
Meet the Malykant. Justice will be served.
Four cases. Four killers. Four executions. Dark fantasy and murder mystery collide in this first collection of the Malykant Mysteries.

 

When I got this book I didn’t realize that it was 4 “short stories”.  Friends who know me know I am not a fan of “short stories”. (with one exception: Nicholas Flamel).. anyway, it was here so I gave it a try.  Can you say “hooked”?!  Even I can’t believe I am hooked on this book, the stories, the characters and their backgrounds and even “spirits” (snakes no less!).  Now, I like fiction and fantasy but I’ve never been into anything like this.

Now, that you know all of that………. I loved this book!  So much that I ordered the other two books that uses these same characters.  Each of those have 4 stories also.   I will say, that the way book one was written it could have been just one story.  Each story is another murder and how the “detective” handles it in the manor in which his “boss” (who is “Death) wants him to.

My suggestion is to give this one a shot…

Different? Definitely.

Ghosts and Spirts?  Absolutely.

Characters with a background?  Totally.

Should you read it?  Without a doubt!

Read Full Post »

 

The 7 1/2 Deaths of Evelyn Hardcastle by Stuart Turton.

 

Publisher : Sourcebooks Landmark; Reprint edition (May 7, 2019)
Paperback : 480 pages
ISBN-10 : 149267012X

 

 

 

Amazon Review:

 

“Agatha Christie meets Groundhog Day . . . quite unlike anything I’ve ever read, and altogether triumphant.”―A. J. Finn, #1 New York Times bestselling author of The Woman in the Window

Aiden Bishop knows the rules. Evelyn Hardcastle will die every day until he can identify her killer and break the cycle. But every time the day begins again, Aiden wakes up in the body of a different guest at Blackheath Manor. And some of his hosts are more helpful than others. With a locked room mystery that Agatha Christie would envy, Stuart Turton unfurls a breakneck novel of intrigue and suspense.

For fans of Claire North, and Kate Atkinson, The 7½ Deaths of Evelyn Hardcastle is a breathlessly addictive mystery that follows one man’s race against time to find a killer, with an astonishing time-turning twist that means nothing and no one are quite what they seem.

 

The title alone drew me to this book.  How does one die 7 1/2 times?  Astonishingly enough.. if you read the book, you will find out!

Lot’s of things for me to like about this book.  One of my absolute favorites is “short chapters”!  Also big on the list is, double spaced sentences, for easy reading for people like me!

But after all the “extra” goodies, I must say this book DID keep me picking it up. The only reason it took me so long is health reasons.  Doctor visits, hospital procedures, and just all around yucky.

While fiction abides in this book… mystery will keep you reading!

I enjoyed this book and I think you will too!!

Read Full Post »