Feeds:
Posts
Comments

Archive for March, 2020

Dragonflight

 

Dragonflight by Anne McCaffrey.

Paperback
Publisher: Del Rey (1988)
ASIN: B008E9EMH6
Package Dimensions: 8.4 x 5.8 x 0.7 inches

 

 

Amazon:

On the beautiful planet Pern, colonized for centuries, Land Holders and Craftsmen have traditionally tithed food and supplies to the dragonweyrs to which they are bound. In times past, the mighty telepathic dragons and their riders were the only protection from the dreaded, life-threatening Thread.

But it has been over 400 years since the last Threadfall, and some people have come to doubt that the menace will every strike again. But F’lar,

Weyr Search features a young woman named Lessa being recruited to establish a telepathic bond with a queen dragon at its hatching, thus becoming a dragonrider, and the leader of a Weyr community on the fictional planet Pern. Dragonrider features the growth of Lessa’s queen dragon, Ramoth, and their training together.

 

Between my “normal” depression and stress and anxiety.. then we get this…. this… virus!  Slowly but surely I  have gotten to a point where I can’t concentrate on what I am doing let alone what I am reading.  So after it took me weeks to read a very good book called Before We Were Yours, and it should have taken me only days, I decided to try reading an old favorite which I haven’t read for a few years ..but.. have read at least 4 times before.  I figured I didn’t have to try so hard to concentrate since I know (and love) the story….   it seems to be working!

 

I love ALL the Pern books that Anne wrote.  The first three are always great, getting to know them all and learning how to believe what no one wants to believe.   If you’ve never read this series… you should.   And now on to Dragonquest!

Read Full Post »

 

Uncle Remus Stories adaptations by Joel Chandler Harris

Hardcover: 92 pages
Publisher: Simon and Schuster (1946)
ASIN: B001GT9NUM
Package Dimensions: 12.9 x 10.2 x 0.6 inches

 

 

 

 

 

Amazon…

 

About This Book: Disney has released a number of Uncle Remus books over the years, but this 1947 Giant Golden Book is the grandaddy of them all. Large format, 92 pp. Released without dustjacket. With lively art credited to Disney animators Bill Justice and Al Dempster. Marion Palmer is credited with “retold by.” Illustrations throughout, about half in color.

Interestingly, Walt Disney’s introduction makes no apology for Song of the South. He explains that the book contains tales which the studio adapted but which didn’t make the final cut of the screenplay. It also discusses how Disney has adapted the dialect of Harris’ stories for younger readers and (very briefly) situates the tales historically.

 

Well I  had to finally reread something I hadn’t read since Grammar School !   It does take you back to times when we had no cares or worries, even though things were all that easy either.

As a child I absolutely loved Uncle Remus.  I wished I had and Uncle that wanted to be around kids and read tell stories !   Uncle Remus is “dated” but my memories  sure didn’t include how things were as I got older.  Uncle Remus was safe.  He was kind.  And he made me happy.  That was all I cared about…  It could be said today, if one chose to.

I was thrilled quite a few years ago to meet “the voice” of Brer Bear, Nick Stewart.  Upon searching his photo in google I realized I knew his face from old black and white movies!  I guess one could say “he was a Bear of an Actor”! heh.

 

Thank you Mr. Stewart for your acting abilities and for making children happy!

Read Full Post »

 

Before We Were Yours by Lisa Windgate.

 

Hardcover: 352 pages
Publisher: Ballantine Books;(June 6, 2017)
ISBN-10: 0425284689

 

Amazon Review

 

For readers of Orphan Train and The Nightingale comes a “thought-provoking [and] complex tale about two families, two generations apart . . . based on a notorious true-life scandal.”*

Memphis, 1939. Twelve-year-old Rill Foss and her four younger siblings live a magical life aboard their family’s Mississippi River shantyboat. But when their father must rush their mother to the hospital one stormy night, Rill is left in charge—until strangers arrive in force. Wrenched from all that is familiar and thrown into a Tennessee Children’s Home Society orphanage, the Foss children are assured that they will soon be returned to their parents—but they quickly realize the dark truth. At the mercy of the facility’s cruel director, Rill fights to keep her sisters and brother together in a world of danger and uncertainty.

Aiken, South Carolina, present day. Born into wealth and privilege, Avery Stafford seems to have it all: a successful career as a federal prosecutor, a handsome fiancé, and a lavish wedding on the horizon. But when Avery returns home to help her father weather a health crisis, a chance encounter leaves her with uncomfortable questions and compels her to take a journey through her family’s long-hidden history, on a path that will ultimately lead either to devastation or to redemption.

Based on one of America’s most notorious real-life scandals—in which Georgia Tann, director of a Memphis-based adoption organization, kidnapped and sold poor children to wealthy families all over the country—Lisa Wingate’s riveting, wrenching, and ultimately uplifting tale reminds us how, even though the paths we take can lead to many places, the heart never forgets where we belong.

 

This is different from most books that I read. No detectives, no murders.. but plenty of mystery.

It’s a sad story taken from truths but the characters were from the author.  Normally, this is a book I would read pretty fast, but for health reason (a lot my eyes) it took me a long time reading it… but in the end, I did enjoy the book.

Read Full Post »